Why does France not cede Corsica to Italy

Germany surrounded by risk areas

As of Saturday, Malta and Slovakia as well as individual regions in nine other EU countries will also be placed on the risk list, as the Robert Koch Institute announced on its website. These include eight regions in Switzerland, including the canton of Zurich bordering Germany, areas in Sweden and Finland for the first time, and further regions in Great Britain, Ireland, Croatia, Portugal, Slovenia and Hungary.

France only "risk-free" overseas

In France, Corsica and the Grand Est border area with Alsace, Lorraine and the Champagne-Ardenne administrative district, which was particularly badly affected at the beginning of the corona pandemic, are placed on the risk list.

Europe bridge between Kehl and Strasbourg: There were border controls there in the spring - this is now being avoided

This turns the European part of France completely into a risk zone. On Thursday evening it became known that the authorities had registered more than 30,000 new corona infections within one day for the first time. Of the five French overseas departments, only the island of Mayotte in the Indian Ocean will be "risk-free" as of Saturday.

Polish border areas still spared

With the addition of five Polish regions including the metropolises of Gdansk and Krakow, none of Germany's nine neighboring countries will be without risk areas from Saturday. However, unlike the French, the Polish border areas are still spared.

Bella Italia has its dangers

In the Netherlands, Zeeland on the North Sea is the last province to become a risk area. Italy, the second most popular holiday destination for Germans after Spain, is at least partially on the risk list. The southern Italian Campania with Naples, the Amalfi Coast and the islands of Capri and Ischia as well as the northwest coastal region of Liguria around Genoa are affected.

The place of longing for many tourists in the middle of the risk area: the Faraglioni off the island of Capri in the Mediterranean

Countries or regions are classified as risk areas if there are more than 50 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants within seven days. The designation to the risk area and the automatically associated travel warnings do not mean a travel ban, but should have the greatest possible deterrent effect on tourists.

Quarantine regulations

Returning travelers who have stayed in a risk area have to be in quarantine for 14 days, but can be freed from it prematurely by a negative test. This regulation is to be changed on November 8th. Then there is a ten-day quarantine and you will only be able to "free yourself" on the fifth day after returning from it.

Dutch corona patients

Because of the drastic increase in new infections, the Netherlands want to bring corona patients back to neighboring Germany. The number of Covid-19 patients is increasing rapidly in the country's intensive care units. In Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague, the emergency rooms have already had to be temporarily closed.

Support in the pandemic: In the Netherlands, hospitals are at risk of reaching the limit of their capacities

In the spring, German clinics had taken in numerous patients from the neighboring country because initially there were not enough places in intensive care units there. In North Rhine-Westphalia alone, hospitals had made more than 100 beds available for Dutch corona patients by the beginning of April.

Because of the spread of the corona virus, the government in The Hague recently tightened its anti-corona measures and imposed a "partial lockdown". In the country with around 17 million inhabitants, there were recently a good 7,800 new infections within one day.

uh / sti (dpa, afp)