How do we rate ICAN in Nigeria

Nobel Peace Prize 2019 Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed honored


Rate this article:
Average rating: 4.29 of 5 with 14 votes.

The 2019 Nobel Peace Prize goes to the Ethiopian Prime Minister. Abiy Ahmed is honored for his peace efforts in the border conflict between Ethiopia and Eritrea.

Status: 11.10.2019 | archive

"For his efforts towards peace and international cooperation, especially for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea," is the reason given by the Nobel Committee for the Nobel Peace Prize 2019, which goes to Ethiopia's Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali.

The Nobel Committee hopes with this decision to stabilize the peace process in Ethiopia and Eritrea. It is clear that Abiy Ahmed is still in the middle of his efforts. At the time of the announcement, the committee had not yet been able to reach the Ethiopian Prime Minister and congratulated him at the press conference.

Abiy Ahmed is 43 years old and is considered to be open and reform-oriented. In April 2018 he came to the government of Ethiopia, the most populous country in Africa after Nigeria. Since then, Abiy Ahmed broke with the authoritarian politics of his predecessors. He advocated a more liberal economy, released political prisoners and in return put soldiers and intelligence officers behind bars who had violated human rights.

And above all: He started the peace process with Eritrea. This culminated in a peace treaty in July 2018 - after 20 years of dispute between the two countries.

At first, the award winner knows nothing of his luck

Abiy Ahmed knew for sure that he was one of the favorites. The Norwegian Nobel Committee could not tell him beforehand that he would actually become one. The prizewinner had not been reached in advance, said Berit Reiss-Andersen, the chairman of the committee.

"If he watches me now, I would like to convey my warmest congratulations to him."

Berit Reiss-Andersen, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee

Nobel Peace Prize as the most important award in the world

The announcement of the Nobel Peace Prize Laureate is the highlight of the series of six Nobel Prize Announcements every year. It is considered the most important award worldwide and has a high political value. In theory, the prize gives the jury the opportunity to intervene in a current conflict, as it did, for example, with the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize when it honored the Ican anti-nuclear weapons campaign.

Five German Nobel Peace Prize winners

In 1901 the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded for the first time - to Henri Dunant, the founder of the Red Cross, and to Frédéric Passy, ​​the founder of the French Peace Society. Since then, a total of five Germans have received the Nobel Peace Prize - most recently in 1971 the former Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt for his Ostpolitik. You can find those who have been honored with the award in the past few years in our gallery of the awardees.

Doves, hawks and the sparrow in hand - Nobel Peace Prizes

1901: Jean Henri Dunant The first laureates: the French pacifist Frédéric Passy and the Red Cross in the form of its founder Jean Henri Dunant. The Swiss got the impulse in 1859 as a chance witness of the Battle of Solferino in Italy. Dunant saw a bloodbath with 6,000 dead and 20,000 injured, which no one cared about in the turmoil. From then on he campaigned for war victims. The result: the Geneva Convention and the founding of "war nursing organizations", which later became part of the Red Cross and Red Crescent.

The Nobel Peace Prize is the only one of the prestigious prizes in memory of Alfred Nobel that is not awarded by the Swedish, but a Norwegian committee. Nobel himself never explained how this choice of location came about. But since Sweden and Norway were still united during Nobel's lifetime and the Norwegian parliament was only responsible for domestic political issues, Nobel probably thought the Norwegians were not so easy to manipulate. The award is given by five politicians who are elected by the Norwegian Parliament.

"to the one who worked most or best for the fraternization of the peoples and for the abolition or reduction of the standing armies as well as for the formation and spread of peace congresses."

Alfred Nobel on who the Nobel Peace Prize belongs to

Prize winners from previous years

  • Have the recent Nobel Peace Prizes all been questionable? radioWelt, October 11, 2019 at 6:05 am, Bavaria 2
  • The Nobel Peace Prize 2019. radioWelt, October 11, 2019 at 1:05 p.m., Bavaria 2
  • Nobel Peace Prize 2019 for Abiy Ahmed. radioWelt, December 10th, 2019 at 6:05 am, Bavaria 2