Why are some desserts not vegetarian?
What's not vegan?
Table of Contents
- Dairy products
- Bee products
- Bread and baked goods
- Fruit gums and desserts
- Overview of non-vegan foods
- Overview of non-vegan additives
- Is pectin vegan?
- Knowledge to take away
Vegans reject the consumption of animal products of any kind for many reasons. They do not want to support the exploitation of animals, the development of factory farming, world hunger, the spread of civilization diseases and the destruction of the environment by the meat, dairy and feed industries (1).
In his words, nutritionist Ben Schamma defines veganism as follows: "Vegans completely dispense with animal products. Veganism also goes as far as not wearing leather products. In general, it is important not to use anything that harms animals."
Many foods are obviously of animal origin and therefore easy to exclude from the vegan diet, but some are only recognizable as non-vegan after a look at the ingredients.
We will show you 8 foods that are of animal origin or contain animal ingredients or additives.
Steaks, schnitzel, minced meat, spreadable, fresh and cured sausage products, fish and crustaceans are obviously not vegan.
But be careful with some BBQ, soy-, fish and Worcester sauces, as well as some salad dressings. Sometimes these are not vegan: they contain anchovies.
Anchovies are anchovies that are fermented and ground and used as a seasoning paste.
2. Milk products
None of them are vegan Dairy products - mostly made from cow's milk. In addition to milk, yogurt and cheese, some mueslis, chips, crackers, cocoa, instant coffee, protein powders and protein bars are not vegan.
Look out for these ingredients / additives: Whey protein (whey), lactose (milk sugar), Lactitol (E 966), casein, skimmed milk, cream and whey powder, condensed milk, cheese powder, concentrated butter. These ingredients are not vegan (2).
Poultry eggs are not vegan. In addition, eggs are found in some pasta products and as powdered eggs in crackers. Lecithin (E 322) andLysozyme (E1105) are two declarable additives obtained from eggs.
Lecithin is usually obtained from plants (soy, rapeseed or corn), but margarine, mayonnaise, Chocolate and instant powder contain animal lecithin. Lysozyme is obtained from chicken egg white and can only be found in matured cheese (3).
4. Bee products
honey can be quickly recognized as not vegan. Beeswax but not: Also as E 901 it is used as a coating or separating agent for fruit gums, chocolate products and coffee beans.
Shiny fruits and vegetables are often covered with a layer of wax. Some chewing gum also contains beeswax as a chewing compound (4).
5. Bread and baked goods
Often used for flour treatment L-cysteine (E 920) used. The Additive is obtained from animal bristles / hair or feathers and is supposed to improve the elasticity of the dough. Therefore, some baked goods are not vegan (5).
Protein-containing fining agents are used in winemaking to bind tannins.
here we can Casein (Milk component), albumin (Protein), gelatin (made of bone or cartilage) and Isinglass (Fish swim bladder) can be used (6).
beer, which was brewed according to the German purity law, is vegan (7)!
Not more European sugar can through Bone carbon filter can be discolored and is therefore not vegan. Particularly with foreign, especially American imported goods, caution is advised. German refineries confirm that they only use vegetable decolorizing agents (8).
8. Fruit gums and desserts
Many fruit gums, chewing gum, cream or cheesecakes, tarts and cream desserts contain animal gelatine.
If these are not used in production, this is unfortunately no guarantee for a vegan product.
Beeswax (E 901) or shellac (E 904) can be used as a glossy coating,Carmine (E 120) can be used as a red dye (9).
These foods are obviously not vegan:
|included in ...|
|1. Animal meat||Meat and sausage products, fish and seafood, BBQ, soy, fish and Worcester sauces ...|
|2. Milk products||Milk, yoghurt, quark dishes, cheese, butter, lard, confectionery, chips, cocoa, instant coffee, protein powders, whey protein products ...|
|3. Egg and egg products||Pasta, margarine, mayonnaise, cheese, instant milk powder, crackers ...|
|4. Honey and bee products||Honey, muesli (bars), fruit gums, fruit and vegetables, chocolate products, coffee beans, chewing gum ...|
Overview of non-vegan additives
If you want to exclude animal products from your diet, you should avoid these additives:
|USED IN / AS ...||E number|
|Carmine / cochelline (dye)||Edible cheese and sausage coatings, jam, confectionery, sausage, spirits, fruit and fruit wine, fruit mueslis||E 120|
|Shellac (coating agent)||Confectionery, chocolate products, nuts, coffee beans, various fruits (e.g. mangoes, avocados, peaches), food supplements||E 904|
|Beeswax (coating agent, filler)||Confectionery, chocolate products, nuts, coffee beans, various fruits (e.g. mangoes, avocados, peaches), food supplements||E 901|
|Lactitol (sweetener)||Energy-reduced or sugar-free products (e.g. confectionery, chewing gum), sauces, mustard||E 966|
|Lecithin (emulsifier, antioxidant)||Margarine, mayonnaise, chocolate products, cakes, biscuits, puff pastry, instant milk and coffee powder, baby food||E 322|
|Lysozyme (preservative)||in aged cheese||E 1105|
Used in the manufacture of many other additives Fatty acids (E 570) used.
These are usually obtained from vegetable fats and oils, but can also be of animal origin. Therefore, the following additives may not be vegan (10):
- Ascorbic acid ester (E 304)
- Polysorbates (E 432 - 436)
- Ammonium phosphatide (E 442)
- Sodium, calcium and magnesium salts of fatty acids (E 470a / b)
- Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (E 471) and their esters (E 472 a - f)
- Sugar esters of fatty acids (E 473)
- Sugar glycerides (E 474)
- Polyglycerol ester (E 477)
- Thermo-oxidized soybean oil with mono- and diglycerides (E 479 b)
- Stearyl tartrate (E 483)
- Sorbitan fatty acid ester (E 491 - 495)
Is pectin vegan?
Pectin (E 440) is a carbohydrate that forms the framework for cell walls in all land plants. It is therefore always of vegetable origin and therefore suitable for a vegan diet. If pectin is used in jams, cake glazes or sauces, it makes them firm, i.e. it is responsible for gelling. The substance is usually obtained from apple peel, citrus fruits or sugar beet.
Knowledge to take away
Vegans reject all food and food products of animal origin.
Obviously non-vegan products such as meat, fish and dairy products as well as eggs and honey are easy to recognize and to remove from the daily diet.
But there are some ingredients and additives that are extracted from animal products and used in food production. If you know these, you can easily find them by looking at the ingredient lists. After a while it becomes so easy to identify non-vegan products.
Look for ingredient lists for sauces, baked goods, beverages, confectionery, and other processed foods.
Many animal additives are used in the processing of apparently non-vegan foods. So vegans do not automatically consume these.
- What is the Mediterranean race
- What makes the French different
- Where to Buy Fusion Speakers Online
- Which wedding destinations are LGBTQ friendly
- What's bigger than a supernova
- Where is my order in AliExpress
- What is Mokeskin in Harry Potter
- How many people get old
- Why is hospice care important
- Can the police stamp you from behind
- What are the career prospects of AEM
- Well worth the Imperial College
- What is learned from entrepreneurship
- How did you stop stuttering
- What do you think before you get married
- Why are public laundromats so expensive
- How do I meet a transgender person
- What percentage of Google employees are women?
- What is dot com bubble
- What do people hate about work
- What do teenagers want their parents to know?
- How can I join the Harlem Globetrotters
- What breed will the Germans consider
- What does a negative kurtosis mean
- How does black coffee taste
- Santa Claus is omniscient
- First steps entrepreneurs or employees
- Can a Sunni Muslim recite Durood
- How do I make biodiesel without methanol
- Which is the first match from IPL
- What does per arch mean for dentures
- How much immigration is ideal
- Why don't people care about the environment?
- What do people hate about work